Ubuntu 10.10 Netbook Edition 9-18-2010 build: GNOME works, Unity doesn’t

I have to say I’m quite disappointed so far with the latest build on Ubuntu 10.10 Netbook Edition. I have tested the latest build on my netbook (HP Mini 110-1116NR) as well as Sun VirtualBox 3.1.8. When I go to run the OS “live”, it brings up nothing except for the default wallpaper. When I choose “Install Ubuntu” from the boot screen, it installs without a hitch. After it installs, I rebooted into the new system. When I log in and choose “Ubuntu Netbook” as my session, it brings up the default wallpaper…and nothing else. When I choose “Ubuntu Desktop Edition” as my session, it brings up Ubuntu’s GNOME desktop without a hitch.

Canonical has less than 3 weeks in order to iron out the bugs with the Unity interface. If they are unable to do so, then they should port the classic netbook interface – the default netbook interface used from Hardy Heron to Lucid Lynx – to Maverick Meerkat and take Unity back to the drawing board. So until things change, I cannot recommend Ubuntu 10.10 Netbook Edition. If things do not improve by then, then I will recommend that people stay with Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook Edition. Alternatively, you can wait for the next versions of Peppermint One and Peppermint Ice which will use the 2.6.35 Linux kernel just like Ubuntu Maverick.

Standard

Leave a Reply

